top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHunter Smith

Confessions of a Former Giannis Hater - Milwaukee Bucks Team Preview 2021/22

I have some explaining to do.


Notable Additions/Subtractions:

Additions: Rodney Hood (1yr/$2.2m), George Hill (3yr/$29m), Semi Ojeleye (1yr/$1.7m)

Subtractions: P.J. Tucker (traded to MIA)


Projected First Two Lineups:

Starters: J. Holiday, D. DiVencenzo, K. Middleton, G. Antetokounmpo, B. Lopez

Second Unit: G. Hill, P. Connaughton, J. Nwora, S. Ojeleye, B. Portis


Last Year’s Record: 46-26 (3rd in the East) (NBA Champions)


Okay.


So.


Pretty much since he came into the league, I somehow established myself as a total and complete Giannis hater. Not really, I mostly just spent a lot of time defending pretty much any and everybody over the Greek Freak in just about any respect. “LeBron is still more athletic. Kevin Durant is taller and can do so, so much more on the offensive end than him. Embiid is more dominating down low”. I would go on and on like an absolute asshole. “He shouldn’t have all these awards. If I see him win one more DPOY”.


I was being a real tool and maintained that stance up until far too recently. Another one of my things would be my attraction to comparing him to Kevin Garnett, even though they have very little in common. Which, in retrospect is pretty funny, because singularity and a lack of ability to compare to anyone else is something that kind of cements you as an all-time fucking great. “Giannis is just a lesser Kevin Garnett, he can just handle better and shoot worse” was an actual take that came out of my mouth for many years.


Fast forward to this season, and the point where I kind of knew when the Celtics weren’t going to contend. I really hesitated to throw any sort of support behind the Bucks, but they also had traded for Jrue Holiday, and as a Jrue Holiday guy through and through, they always kind of tugged at my heart strings. Also shout out to Vermont Academy once again, Jordan Nwora blossomed into the type of player who can make a real impact as a three and D wing, not unlike his former counterpart Bruce Brown.


By the time we got to Game 6 of the Finals, and I was watching what Giannis was doing, I couldn’t help but think back on all the shit I had talked, and how I was watching something I truly had never seen before, and I couldn’t help but sit in awe in my living room. When there were about seven minutes to go, I knew that the Bucks weren’t going to blow their what I believe was a six point lead. I couldn’t help but sit back and marvel at what I was seeing, and he sold me for the rest of his career.


There isn’t a whole lot of things to say about the Bucks heading into next season, they kept everyone who was a difference maker, including a veteran extension for my real dad Jrue Holiday. They added a few bench pieces who could see some time, including former Celtic Semi Ojeleye, as well as George Hill and former Duke standout Rodney Hood. Bonus points if you remember when Rodney Hood and Jabari Parker’s Duke team almost lost to Brian Voelkel, Luke Apfeld, and UVM. The result will probably be similar to last year, if not the same. Giannis will be the point to run through in the East going forward, and even though I’ll never cheer FOR Milwaukee explicitly, I’m looking forward to watching it.


6 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page